On the Rise

The global market for medical cannabis is dynamic and swift.

A large part of medical science, the people and legislators of many countries regard the prohibition policy adopted in the last century as pointless. It is obvious that the world wants to recede from classifying a plant as illegal, which provides so many advantages for the mankind. The medical benefit, the economic factor and also the spread and revival of support of cannabis among the population - even by non-users - are all contributing factors to a movement, that gains huge momentum right now.

Our Objective


Our first objective is to expand MediCrops to one of the leading production companies for plant-based pharmaceutical raw materials and to make it indispensable as a supplier to the pharmaceutical industry in Europe. MediCrops cultivates cannabis under a state-approved cultivation License as a source for the extraction of active ingredients for therapeutical utilization. The License isn´t subject neither to production quantity restriction, nor to a limitation regarding the content of Cannabinoids.

All Cultivation will be realised in GMP- and GACP-Certified environments at highest Standards. This makes us one of currently very few high-volume manufacturers in existence, delivering pharmaceutical-grade cannabis containing the full range of Cannabinoids. Because particularly the production of the therapeutically valuable cannabis with THC content is still strictly legally restricted or even banned throughout Europe.

Should it be the case that the trend to legalisation continues as it took place in many other parts of the globe, the Mission of MediCrops will be to build one of the most recognisable Consumer Brands around Europe and to strive for being a market leader in recreational Cannabis by marketing a wide collection of premium products at competitive prices.


More about our Objectives

Revival of a Crop ?


The reasons for the period of an almost globally established prohibition as a medicinal plant, as stimulant (and even as agricultural resource) can at least be called questionable in the scientific-medical context. The USA (whose declaration of independence, incidentally, is written on hemp paper) seemed being quite uncertain about its course in the last century. On the one hand, the US army advertised with the slogan "Hemp for Victory", which was supposed to boost hemp production as an important raw material for armament, while at the same time a certain Harry J. Anslinger led a seemingly personal campaign against cannabis and the United States used its influence to enforce worldwide prohibition.
The history of the law, especially over the past 100 years, fills books, which is why we are certainly doing each other a favor if we restrict ourselves on this website to highlighting the current situation and prospects for the future as best we can. And of course the role of MediCrops.

Main Targets

Image change to the extreme :
From earliest medicine of mankind
to demonized hippie drug and back again.


Cannabis Sativa L. - the scientific name for cannabis or marijuana, served humans back more than 7,000 years ago as a remedy. As the first cultivated plant of all, hemp became a valuable raw material for a wide spread of utilization.

The therapeutic benefits of cannabis are manifold. Against well over 100 illnesses and diseases it was officially prescribed as a medicine in the USA 80 years ago. And just starting from North America and Canada, where cannabis was classified a few decades ago as a dangerous drug "causing madness", the wave of legalization takes its course and spreads globally. Today, experts not only see Europe as the most profitable market (highest expenditure in the health care system), but also consider it to lead the most pronounced progressivism in questions of legalization.

Supply & Demand


The progressive approval as a prescription drug in 14 EU countries is currently creating a supply vacuum and thus a real business case. The rapidly growing demand in Europe is currently mainly met by imports from Canada, where companies are the only ones able to supply significant quantities of pharmaceutical grade/purity. But Canada is busy with its own market. In 2018 only 3.13 tonnes of imported goods landed in German pharmacies. If you consider the at the low end estimated 250 Tons of cannabis consumed in 2018 in Germany and minimum 60 tons in Switzerland, having barely a tenth of this population, you can imagine how scarce this commodity from official resources really gets. Prices of up to 26 € for a single gram of cannabis flowers throughout Europe is todays result.


More about the market

Auf dem
Vormarsch

Der weltweite Markt für medizinisches Cannabis ist gleichermassen dynamisch wie turbulent.

Die Medizin und auch die Gesetzgeber vieler Länder selbst, betrachten die im letzten Jahrhundert gepflegte Verbotspolitik als unsinnig und nicht mehr zeitgemäss. Klar ist, dass die Welt davon Abstand gewinnen will. Der medizinische Nutzen, der wirtschaftliche Faktor und auch die Verbreitung und auflebende Akzeptanz von Cannabis in der Bevölkerung - selbst seitens Nicht-Konsumenten - leistet dieser Bewegung kräftig Vorschub.

Unser Ziel


Unser erstes Ziel ist es, die MediCrops Firmengruppe zu einem qualitativ und quantitativ führenden Erzeuger von medizinischem Cannabis auszubauen und sie als Zulieferer der pharmazeutischen Industrie in Europa unentbehrlich zu machen.

MediCrops produziert unter staatlich gewährter Anbaulizenz Cannabis, als Rohstoff für die Pharmaindustrie. Die behördliche Genehmigung unterliegt weder einer Produktionsmengen- Beschränkung, noch einer Limitierung in Bezug auf den Wirkstoffgehalt.

Das bringt uns als eines der wenigen Unternehmen Europas in die Lage, Cannabis mit dem vollen Wirkstoffspektrum in Grossmengen zu liefern. Denn gerade für die Herstellung des therapeutisch wertvollen Cannabis mit THC-Gehalt, bestehen europaweit strenge, gesetzliche Einschränkungen oder gar Verbote.


Mehr über Unsere Ziele

Neuer Umschwung
der Kulturpflanze ?


Die Gründe für die beinahe weltumspannende Prohibition als Arzneipflanze und Genussmittel dürfen im wissenschaftlich-medizinischen Kontext, gelinde ausgedrückt, als zweifelhaft bezeichnet werden. Die USA (deren Unabhängigkeitserklärung nebenbei bemerkt auf Hanffasern geschrieben steht) wusste im vergangenen Jahrhundert jedenfalls selbst nicht so recht, was sie wollte. Einerseits warb die US-Armee mit dem Slogan “Hemp for Victory”, mit dem die Hanfproduktion als wichtiger Rohstoff für die Rüstung angekurbelt werden sollte, während zeitgleich ein gewisser Harry J. Anslinger einen scheinbar persönlichen Feldzug gegen Cannabis anführte und die vereinigten Staaten ihren Machteinfluss nutzten um die weltweite Prohibition durchzusetzen.
Die Geschichte der Gesetzeslage, insbesondere in den vergangenen 100 Jahren, füllt Bücher, weshalb wir uns sicher gegenseitig einen Gefallen tun, wenn wir uns auf dieser Website darauf beschränken, den Ist-Zustand und die Aussichten für die Zukunft bestmöglich zu beleuchten. Und natürlich die Rolle der MediCrops.

HAUPTZIELE

Imagewandel Extrem :
Vom vergötterten Heilmittel in frühester Menschheitsgeschichte
zur verteufelten Hippie-Droge - und wieder zurück.


Cannabis Sativa L. - so die wissenschaftliche Bezeichnung für Cannabis oder auch Marihuana, diente dem Menschen bereits vor 7.000 Jahren als Heilmittel. Als erste Kulturpflanze überhaupt, wurde der Hanf ihm zum wertvollen Rohstoff.

Der therapeutische Nutzen von Cannabis ist vielfältig. Gegen weit über 100 Leiden und Krankheiten wurde es in den USA noch vor 80 Jahren höchst offiziell als Arzneimittel verschrieben. Und ausgerechnet von Nordamerika und Kanada ausgehend, wo Cannabis vor wenigen Jahrzehnten als gefährliche Droge “die Wahnsinn verursacht” eingestuft wurde, nimmt die Legalisierungswelle ihren Lauf und breitet sich global aus. Europa wird von Experten heute nicht nur als lukrativster Markt gesehen (höchste Ausgaben im Gesundheitswesen), sondern von diesen auch noch den am stärksten ausgeprägten Progressivismus in Fragen der Legalisierung zugesprochen.

Angebot & Nachfrage


Die fortschreitende Zulassung als Arzneimittel in 14 EU Ländern erzeugt aktuell ein regelrechtes Angebots-Vakuum und damit einen echten Business-Case. Der schnell wachsende Bedarf in Europa wird derzeit hauptsächlich durch Importe aus Kanada gedeckt, da die dortigen Unternehmen die einzigen sind, die nennenswerte Mengen in pharmazeutischer Reinheit/Qualität liefern können. Doch in Kanada ist man mit dem eigenen Markt beschäftigt. So landeten in deutschen Apotheken im Jahre 2018 gerade einmal 3,13 Tonnen Importware. Die Zahl Patienten, die Cannabis auf Rezept beziehen explodiert förmlich weshalb ein einziges Gramm Cannabisblüten in den Apotheken für bis zu 26 Euro verkauft wird. Zieht man dann noch in Betracht, dass mindestens 60 Tonnen jährlich in der Schweiz und mindestens 250 Tonnen in Deutschland unter der Hand verkauft werden, wird deutlich welches enorme Potential der Transfer zum legalen Markt bietet.


Mehr über den Markt